To everything, there is a season

September 9, 2008 at 9:37 pm | Posted in Dear Diary | Leave a comment

Life’s been pretty odd recently.  I waited as long as possible to blab about what follows, but I need to get it out, work through it, and move forward.  Mom moved back into the house in Georgetown a few months ago.  And while nothing in that statement is odd in and of itself, it’s what was not said that is telling.  To wit: Dad did not.  He’s still living and working in Sevierville, Tennessee.  What exactly that means both now and in the future, I don’t really know.  I think it’s been long enough now that they have both told the people they would like to tell – as such, I don’t think I am shocking too many people.  But I am going to leave the details up to them, the family & friends, and the paid professionals.  I am pretty sure I’ll ramble on some more eventually; perhaps in person, perhaps in print…

I have moved into Austin proper to give mom run of the house and to be closer to work.  I must say it is quite nice to be 5 minutes from work, especially considering the new job entails being at least semi-responsible for any number of things that can go haywire without notice at any time of the day (or more importantly in the middle of the night.)  I learned a very important lesson this move.  Always get a look at your apartment (and not just the model) before signing the lease.  Sadly, that is now the voice of experience since my presence at the front door that first day was greeting by bugs, ants, water damage in the bathroom, a sagging ceiling in the living room, warped cabinetry, and a horrendously putrid 80s wallpaper.  But at least they threw in an alarm system.  It’s probably not as bad as it sounds, but it’s far from the idyllic domicile that is the demo unit we were shown initially.  So I have spent the last couple weeks Spic & Span-ing ever surface I could reach and dousing everything that moves with Raid and boric acid.  And the horrible wakeup call of feeling something crawling on me (whether or not it was a figment of my imagination) was almost worth my perverse glee of seeing the look of horror on the faces of the front office staff when I handing over my two type-written page apartment condtion form.  Almost.  Needless to say, this experience certainly has rekindled the desire to buy a place of my own.  At least there I will be able to gut it to the studs and start over if need be.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

