Pitter Pat

November 2, 2008 at 9:26 pm | Posted in Linux | 4 Comments

I have a confession to make – I have fallen in love.  It’s a hot, sexy, fast, easy Brazilian number.  And it’s called DreamLinux.  What did you think I was talking about?  I must say that this distro runs like a champ on the relatively meager spec ThinkPad X40 (1.4Ghz Intel, 1.5GB Memory, 40GB HDD) that used to choke like Mama Cass on XP Pro and it’s chock full of enough eye candy and polish to turn even the snootiest geeks head.

DreamLinux 3.5

DreamLinux 3.5

Technically it’s a release candidate that’s preceded the official release, but it has proven itself to be rock solid thus far with a week plus of fairly hard core use proffering only a single crashed application (Pidgin locked up on me – that’d be like AOL IM crashing for you Windows users out there.)  Sure, you could always go with Ubuntu (which just released it’s new version Intrepid Ibex this week as well) if you’re looking for something with a bit more name recognition, but DreamLinux is well worth checking out.  Not only does it come with a live CD that runs the operating system directly from the CD (allowing you to test drive it before deciding whether or not to install) and that it can be installed on a thumb drive (allowing you to use, configure, and then take your entire OS with you and to use it on any PC that allows booting from USB) but you can also tweak the OS to suit your needs and then make your own distro to share with others.  The only think that really annoyed me was that since it’s Debian based it ships with the unbranded version of Firefox called IceWeasel.  Yes, it’s silly, it’s annoying, and I had to change it.  So I just used the Easy Install function (hello three click software installs!) and then cracked open a terminal and plugged in:

ln -f /usr/bin/firefox /usr/bin/sensible-browser

Now all the links show up with the expected Mozilla goodness.  Ah, nerdy goodness…

DreamLinux Info ~ Homepage ~ Latest Version ~ Distrowatch

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Neeeerrrrrrd!! (You know, of course, that I’m kidding and that I’m right there with you..)

    1.5 gigs of RAM is now “relatively meager”? Oh, what a world, what a world ;^)

    I must say, on my trash-salvaged Dell 600m (only 512 megs of memory), Ubuntu is feeling pretty dang slow. Good thing we only use it to let my daughter paint kiddie Jackson Pollock ripoffs in GIMP.

  2. “…choke like Mama Cass…” (giggle! snort!!!)

  3. Update: this week I tried installing Puppy Linux on that 600m. So far: not so stable, not pretty at ALL, but when it works, it’s faaaaaaaaaast.

  4. Puppy crashed a bit too much for me when I had it on an old desktop. You might want to check out http://distrowatch.com/search.php – there’s an “Old Computers” choice in the distribution category section and it will give choices for limited hardware use. Quite handy in my experience.

    VectorLinux and Fluxbuntu are two of my personal favorites…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

